Poiret Preview

Today I am proud to preview my latest experiment–a recreation of a 1923 Poiret Cocoon Coat! I have yet to get the button closure on it, but I am terribly excited about where this is going… I have longed to do something elegant and drapey like this for a long time, and think that my floral painting might look really good on it, especially around the hem up to the sleeves. This was made out of black velveteen using a pattern: Folkwear #503.

Front

Front

There are some adjustments that I would like to make to the pattern, as well as some alterations and piecing that I would like to do… I am not thrilled about using someone else’s pattern for things–I’d like to adapt it to my own, so I’ve got some thinking to do… If you had your druthers, what would you do? I’m thinking there is a way to make it more contemporary. Just haven’t hit on it yet. : )

Side

Side

But here it is, sans center front closure. I would love to have some feedback if you’re willing… Perhaps some vertical panels in the front and one in the back? Hmm…

Sleeve

Sleeve

Until next time, Live Life with Relish!

2 Comments

  1. September 20, 2009 at 6:31 am

    The coat is beautiful!

    Here is my (vague) idea to make something like this more modern. You used the word ‘piercing’, so I wondered about adding some shiny, contrast colour satin as an inner lining. Putting some vertical slashes in the top fabric, but with finished edges (like a jetted pocket) When you moved, the open slash would open and close, revealing the satin. As I said, this is a very vague idea…

    • relishedartistry said,

      September 20, 2009 at 10:42 am

      OH! I see! Renaissance “slashing” but with the edges protected and not raw. I get it! That’s a great idea! The contrasting colored lining is really intriguing to me–I can imagine that hint of color splashing through–how fun!!

      I went to your blog, Dressingmyself, and looked around–How awesome!! I’m gonna have to take some time to really dive into it, but I love the “feel good about yourself” philosophy. We need more of that in the world, don’t we? I think it’d solve a lot of problems if people were just happier!

      Thanks for the advice! Can’t wait to explore more!

      –Corey


Leave a Reply

